[Homestead] Primitive technology

Tvoivozhd tvoivozd at infionline.net
Mon Sep 13 22:10:21 EDT 2004


I.m pretty sure I sent in something about this Primitive Technology CD, 
but dan't find it and don't want to risk something that should be done 
on a bad memory.
file:///C:/My%20Documents/Primitive%20technology/Primitive%20technology.htm




*RESOURCES* <cid:part2.05090405.07080104 at infionline.net>* | WORKSHOPS 
<cid:part3.05040908.00020007 at infionline.net> | FIRE 
<cid:part4.07020404.06090902 at infionline.net> | TOOLS 
<cid:part5.00070706.08050907 at infionline.net> | MUSIC 
<cid:part6.06060405.06040803 at infionline.net> | SKILLS 
<cid:part7.00060707.07040402 at infionline.net> | PLANTS 
<cid:part8.03030107.07060507 at infionline.net> | EVENTS 
<cid:part9.04090505.04050405 at infionline.net> | URBAN 
<cid:part10.07060901.03070307 at infionline.net> | GALLERY 
<cid:part11.09070307.00070606 at infionline.net>*


*The PrimitiveWays™ CD <http://www.primitiveways.com/primitiveways_CD.html>*

*What's New*

	

17th Annual Rabbitstick Primitive Skills Conference
September 12-18, 2004 <http://www.backtracks.net/>

The Coyote Hills Knap-In
Coyote Hills Regional Park in Fremont, California
October 2-3, 2004 <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-oldways.html#anchor57701>

Gourd-A-Thon Workshop
Friends of Primitive Technology
November 6, 2004 <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-oldways.html#anchor58521>

Bead Making Workshop
Friends of Primitive Technology
December 4, 2004 <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-oldways.html#anchor59491>

Pit Oven <http://www.primitiveways.com/pit_oven.html>

Become a Member of the *Society of Primitive Technology* 
<http://www.primitive.org/>


*Resources*

	

	


E-mail Questions Answered
(new additions weekly) <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-questions.html>

The PrimitiveWays™ CD <http://www.primitiveways.com/primitiveways_CD.html>

Recommended Books & Magazines <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-books.html>

Movies of Interest
(Entertainment, Educational, and How-To videos) 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/movies1.html>

Stores that Offer Resources for Primitive Technology Projects 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/stores.html>

TRADING POST - items for sale 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-trading-post.html>

A $5 Friction Fire Starter Kit 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/firestarter.html>

Thumb Loop Hand Drill Fire Kit 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/firedrill.html>


*Workshops
&
Classes*

	
**

	


Old Ways Workshops - 2004 <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-oldways.html>

KAHIKO Workshops of Native Skills 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/Kahiko_workshops1.html>

MAPOM Fall Classes - 2004 <http://www.mapom.com/skillsclasses.htm>

17th Annual Rabbitstick Primitive Skills Conference: September 12-18, 
2004 <http://www.backtracks.net/>

The Coyote Hills Knap-In
Coyote Hills Regional Park
Fremont, California
October 2-3, 2004 <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-oldways.html#anchor57701>

Gourd-A-Thon Workshop
Friends of Primitive Technology
November 6, 2004 <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-oldways.html#anchor58521>

Bead Making Workshop
Friends of Primitive Technology
December 4, 2004 <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-oldways.html#anchor59491>

What to Teach Kids and Why 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/teaching_Baugh.html>

Sharing Old Ways With The Young 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/teaching_Kidder.html>

*
Fire Making
&
Primitive Cooking*

	

	


Evidence of Ancient Campfires 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/ancient_fires.html>

Some Uses of Fire <http://www.primitiveways.com/uses_of_fire.html>

Starting Fire
With a Lens Made From Ice! <http://www.primitiveways.com/fire_from_ice.html>

The Egyptian Bow Drill <http://www.primitiveways.com/e-fire.html>

Fire-By-Friction: Materials of the San Francisco Bay Region 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/fire_materials.html>

Fire <http://www.primitiveways.com/fire.html>

The Two-Stick Hearthboard 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/two-stick-hearthboard.html>

Miracle of Fire-by-Friction <http://www.primitiveways.com/fire_Baugh.html>

Making Fire with a Bow Drill <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-bowfire.html>

Making Fire with a Hand Drill <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-fire.html>

Fire-by-Friction with Damp Materials 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/fire_damp_materials.html>

Spindle Extension for a Fire Bow Drill 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-bowspinext.html>

Fire-by-Friction Methods of the Australian Aborigines 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-firesaw.html>

Smallest Bow Drill Fire-by-Friction Set 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-small-fire.html>

------------------------------------------------------------------------
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-small-fire.html>
Primitive Cooking <http://www.primitiveways.com/primitive_cooking.html>

Adobe Horno <http://www.primitiveways.com/adobe_horno.html>

Bamboo Rice Cooker <http://www.primitiveways.com/bamboo_rice_cooker.html>

Pit Oven <http://www.primitiveways.com/pit_oven.html>


*Primitive Tools
&
Projectiles*

	
**

	


The Secrets of the Sinew 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/secrets_of_sinew.html>

Cordage Backed Bow <http://www.primitiveways.com/cordage_backed_bow.html>

Making an Asiatic Composite Bow 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-composite_bow.html>

Making a Bow From a Sapling <http://www.primitiveways.com/sapling_bow.html>

A Foolproof Method for Bow Tillering 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/bow_tillering.html>

Fletching By Hand <http://www.primitiveways.com/fletching_by_hand.html>

Arrow Straightening <http://www.primitiveways.com/arrow_straightening.html>

Making an Atlatl from a Branch 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/atlatl_branch.html>

Jiffy Arrow & Atlatl Dart Fletch Using Duct Tape 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt_qikfltch.html>

Atlatl Dart Tuning <http://www.primitiveways.com/dart_Baugh.html>

Atlatl Flexibility Analysis 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-atlatlflex.html>

Simple Atlatl Spear Thrower Construction 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-spearthrower.html>

Atlatl in Ancient Rock Art <http://www.primitiveways.com/rock-art.html>

Bamboo Clay Thrower <http://www.primitiveways.com/bamboo_clay_thrower.html>

How to Make a Wooden Canoe Paddle <http://www.primitiveways.com/paddle.html>

Spears, Weirs and Traps <http://www.primitiveways.com/fishing.html>

The Hoko Knife - A quick, simple stone tool 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-hoko.html>

The Stone Saw <http://www.primitiveways.com/stone_saw.html>

The Scapular Saw <http://www.primitiveways.com/scapular_saw.html>

Antler Handle Knife <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-antlerhandleknife.html>

Scallop Baking Shells <http://www.primitiveways.com/shells.html>



*Musical Instruments
&
Magic*

	

	


Bone Flutes <http://www.primitiveways.com/boneflute.html>

Primitive Quail Call <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-quail-call.html>

Primitive Hand Made Reed Flute 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-weed-flute.html>

Sycamore Membranophone <http://www.primitiveways.com/sycamore_drum.html>

Puniu - Hawaiian Knee Drum <http://www.primitiveways.com/puniu.html>

Deer Hoof Rattle <http://www.primitiveways.com/hoof_rattle.html>

Musical Instruments of Central California 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/musical_instruments.html>

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Random Thoughts on
Tradition vs. Technology 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/tradition_vs_technology.html>

Primitive Crystal Light! <http://www.primitiveways.com/crystal-light.html>


*Early Technology
&
Traditional Skills*

	

	


Weaving a Lauhala Mat <http://www.primitiveways.com/mat.html/index.htm>

Processing Shark Skin into Rawhide 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/processing_sharkskin.html>

Brain Tanned Buffalo Hides <http://www.primitiveways.com/buffalo_hide.html>

Tanning a Fox Hide <http://www.primitiveways.com/foxtan/Tanafox.htm>

Pelt Bag <http://www.primitiveways.com/pelt_bag.html>

How to Make a Rabbit Skin Blanket 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/rabbit_skin_blanket.html>

The Ties that Bind and Bindings that Tie 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-knots.html>

What Knot to Use in a Primitive Situation 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/knots.html>

Pomo Netting <http://www.primitiveways.com/pomo_netting.html>

Cordage Fiber Shredder Made From Bone 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-shredder.html>

Making Cordage By Hand <http://www.primitiveways.com/cordage.html>

Introduction To Tule Ethnobotany 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/tule_ethnobotany.html>

Pomo Tule Bittern <http://www.primitiveways.com/tule_bittern.html>

Klamath Twined Tule Visor <http://www.primitiveways.com/tule_visor.html>

Paiute Tule Duck Decoy <http://www.primitiveways.com/duck_decoy.html>

Ajumawi Fish Traps <http://www.primitiveways.com/ajumawi_fish_traps.html>

Inuit Thimble <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-thimble.html>

Willow Rake <http://www.primitiveways.com/willow_rake.html>

The Three-Stick Roycroft Pack Frame 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pack_frame.html>

Making a Leather Knife Sheath 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-knifesheath.html>

Steam Bending Wood <http://www.primitiveways.com/bending.html>

Log Ladder <http://www.primitiveways.com/ladder.html>

Four Hour Kayak <http://www.shelter-systems.com/kayak.html>

How to Paint a Mammoth <http://www.primitiveways.com/paint_a_mammoth.html>

Black Dye <http://www.primitiveways.com/black_dye.html>

Wilderness Grooming <http://www.primitiveways.com/stone-file.html>

Thirty Years in the Jungle! 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/jungle_30_years.html>

*
Useful Plants
&
Shelters
*

	

	


Was Agriculture a Good Idea,
or an Act of Desperation? <http://www.primitiveways.com/agriculture.html>

Calendar of Harvesting and Gathering 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/harvesting_gathering.html>

Coppicing <http://www.primitiveways.com/coppicing.html>

Bare-Handed Basket <http://www.primitiveways.com/bare-handed_basket.html>

Useful Plants of California (1) 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/plants.html/index.htm>

Useful Plants of California (2) 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/plants2.html/index.htm>

Useful Plants of California (3) <http://www.primitiveways.com/plants3.html>

Nature's General Store: The Yuccas and Agaves 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/yuccas_and_agaves.html>

The Ti Plant Called Ki <http://www.primitiveways.com/ki.html>

Olona <http://www.primitiveways.com/olona.html>

Hemp Dogbane <http://www.primitiveways.com/hemp_dogbane.html>

Hawaiian Plants (a trip to the Big Island) 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/hawaii-trip.html>

Bull Whip Kelp <http://www.primitiveways.com/bull_whip_kelp.html>

Fishing with Poisons <http://www.primitiveways.com/fish_poison.html>

Fishing with Hawaiian Plants <http://www.primitiveways.com/fish_toxins.html>

Cattail Pollen Pancakes 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/cattail_pollen_pancakes.html>

Quiz: Can You Name These Plants? 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/name-plants.html>

------------------------------------------------------------------------

<http://www.primitiveways.com/name-plants.html>Thatched Ohlone Style 
House <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-tule_shelter.html>

How to Build an Igloo <http://www.primitiveways.com/igloo.html>

Scout Pit <http://www.primitiveways.com/scout_pit.html>

The Primitive Sauna <http://www.primitiveways.com/sauna.html>

*
Events
&
Primitive Trips*

	


	


I Belong To This Country
(an Australian adventure) 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/Australian_trip.html>

Native California Fall Gathering
at San Luis Reservoir State Recreation Area 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/fall_gathering2001%281%29.html>

Rattlesnake Rendezvous 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-Rattlesnake_Rendezvous.html>

Australian Aborigine Flint Knapping 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-australian.html>

Primitive Field Day at Stanford University 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/stanford.html>

Coyote Hills Knap-In and The Gathering of Ohlone People 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/Knap_In1.html>

Winter Count <http://www.primitiveways.com/wintercount.html/index.htm>


*Hand-Made Tools
&
Urban Resources*

	
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-order.html>

	


How to Make Your Own Steel Knives 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-knives-1.html>

Folding Saw <http://www.primitiveways.com/tools.html>

Johnstone Tools <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-toilettools.html>

Portable Shaving Horse <http://www.primitiveways.com/shaving-horse.html>

Urban Resources <http://www.primitiveways.com/urban_resources.html>

Alternative Supplies for Urban Dwellers 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/urban_resources2.html>

Wilderness & Urban Tips 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/wilderness_%26_urban_tips.html>

Fire by Chemical Reaction <http://www.primitiveways.com/chemical_fire.html>


*Gallery
&
Links*

	

	


Photo Gallery I <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-photo_gallery1.html>

Photo Gallery II <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-photo_gallery11.html>

Photo Gallery III <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-photo_gallery21.html>

The Info Super Highway Refugee <http://www.primitiveways.com/refugee.html>

Interesting Links <http://www.primitiveways.com/pt-interesting_links.html>

*RESOURCES* <cid:part2.05090405.07080104 at infionline.net>* | WORKSHOPS 
<cid:part3.05040908.00020007 at infionline.net> | FIRE 
<cid:part4.07020404.06090902 at infionline.net> | TOOLS 
<cid:part5.00070706.08050907 at infionline.net> | MUSIC 
<cid:part6.06060405.06040803 at infionline.net> | SKILLS 
<cid:part7.00060707.07040402 at infionline.net> | PLANTS 
<cid:part8.03030107.07060507 at infionline.net> | EVENTS 
<cid:part9.04090505.04050405 at infionline.net> | URBAN 
<cid:part10.07060901.03070307 at infionline.net> | GALLERY 
<cid:part11.09070307.00070606 at infionline.net>*



*PrimitiveWays began in 1998 and is produced by
Dick Baugh, Bob Gillis, Norm Kidder, Chuck Kritzon, Ken Peek, and Dino 
Labiste <http://www.primitiveways.com/primitiveways_clan.html>.*

The excerpts by Steve Watts 
<http://www.primitiveways.com/Steve_Watts.html> (President of the 
Society of Primitive Technology <http://www.primitive.org/>)
summarizes our philosophy on practicing and teaching primitive technology.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

E-mail your comments to "Dino Labiste" at dlabiste at yahoo.com 
<mailto:dlabiste at yahoo.com>, "Bob Gillis" at shelter at best.com 
<mailto:shelter at best.com>,
"Richard A. Baugh" at oldfellah37 at msn.com <mailto:oldfellah37 at msn.com>, 
"Norm Kidder" at atlatl1 at aol.com <mailto:atlatl1 at aol.com>,
"Chuck Kritzon" at chuckk at petroglyphics.com 
<mailto:chuckk at petroglyphics.com>, or "Ken Peek" at 
kspeek123 at earthlink.net <mailto:kspeek123 at earthlink.net>

------------------------------------------------------------------------

© *PrimitiveWays* 1998 - 2004
All rights reserved.
No photo files on this website may be copied or reproduced without 
express written consent from the photographer. No part of this website 
may be copied or reproduced without express written consent from 
PrimitiveWays.






More information about the Homestead mailing list