Third Division of Hebrew Bible

F. J. Weismann weismann at
Thu Aug 23 14:25:54 EDT 2001

----- Original Message -----
From: "Brian Tucker" <editor at>
To: "Biblical Hebrew" <b-hebrew at>
Sent: Wednesday, August 22, 2001 9:53 AM
Subject: Third Division of Hebrew Bible

> I'm compiling a list of what the third division of the Hebrew Bible was
> called in antiquity, so far I have:
> 1. the Psalms
> 2. the Writings
> It seems like there was at least one more name, could someone help me with
> that?
> Thanks,
> Brian
> ---------------------------------------------------
> Brian Tucker
> Michigan Theological Seminary
> Riverview, MI
> editor at
> HI,

Yes, the "third" part of the Masoretic Text (MT) or Hebrew Bible is commonly
known as "Kethubim"=Writings=Hagiographa. Therefore:TaNaKh=Torah, Prophets
and Writings. Other name is simply "Mikra".

I hope it's right.


Francis J. Weismann                      weismann at
> ---
> You are currently subscribed to b-hebrew as: [weismann at]
> To unsubscribe, forward this message to
> To subscribe, send an email to join-b-hebrew at

More information about the b-hebrew mailing list