[Icommons] I need legal/lawyer on cybercrime help: web infringement!

Danica Radovanovic danica.radovanovic at gmail.com
Wed May 30 08:20:28 EDT 2007


Hi,

Friend from CC Serbia directed me to this listserv. I have big problem, and
also I wrote to prof. Lessing, and my colleagues, former mentors in USA,
people who are web activists, bloggers who made alert on my case. I need
your expert help about the case that happened two days ago.

Just to introduce myself in one sentence: I am information management
professional, former Alumni of UNC/SILS, fellow of City University of London
(School of Information Science) and MSc from University of Belgrade,
Serbiawhere where I live right now.
I am also blogger since 2003, web activist, I use Creative Commons licences
from the beginning, and from 2006 when Wordpress started its services. This
is my blog: Belgrade and Beyond - http://danicar.wordpress.com where the
following issue happened:

some guy mirrored and stole entire blog of mine, the guy copied entire blog,
my intellectual property under CC licence (Creative Commons
Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0
License<http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/>
)
plus he added adSenses to earn money on my account -  I never ever had
commercial usage or benefit of my blog.
This is that URL:
http://www.jaylee.cn/wikipedia/index.php?q=aHR0cDovL2RhbmljYXIud29yZHByZXNzLmNvbQ%3D%3D


I gave notice to many of colleagues who reacted:
http://danicar.wordpress.com/2007/05/28/blog-plagiarism-web-infringement/
as well sent email to Dreamhost (his provider, got very vague answer form
abuse depart.) and Google adSense machine replied with wrong respond as I
tried to give them notice to block this man, as this is criminal deed.

To cut story short, you saw the link of my latest post, I won't post anymore
as everything comes up from mine blog to this stealer's blog who earns on my
intellectual work (placed in China I assume). You will find all info in this
post and from comments of IT and software engineers. Also science blogger
Bora Zivkovic from Science Blogs gave alert at his web site and
we are looking for legal help asap:
http://scienceblogs.com/clock/2007/05/blog_plagiarism_alert.php

I posted also on one of the comments that I need legal help, as Dreamhost
abuse ask for some DMCA form, and I thought to write directly to DMCA
(google).

Please do advise and help me. Blogosphere is following my case and I won't
give up.

I am not legal expert but these are two steps I thought to take:

1. to submit a formal notification of claimed infringement as described in
the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (512(c)(3)(A)(i-vi)) to the Host (big
company where this criminal holds all domains), so they would :"Upon receipt
of a valid DMCA Notification, we will commence with the removal of such
content in an expeditious manner."
which is a bit vague…
and the other way, which includes real Digital Guru's,.your help
2. to process my request of infringement here ("the file a notice of
infringement with us - read: Google, must provide a written communication"):
http://www.google.com/dmca.html#notification
and this way has a much much heavier and broader notice.

Thanks for your time, these are the links again:
of my web site/blog post with comments
http://danicar.wordpress.com/2007/05/28/blog-plagiarism-web-infringement/
you will find there link of WHOIS and other data,
as well as Bora posted Alert this morning:
http://scienceblogs.com/clock/2007/05/blog_plagiarism_alert.php

I am looking forward for your reply, and I would be very grateful if you can
help me to resolve this case, block or punish the criminal who broke not
only CC licences (on the main page there is clear CC logo with Licence
description),  but also made piracy, theft of intellectual property, with
using adsenses and earning money on the mirror site.



Regards,
Danica

******************************************************
Danica Radovanovic
MSc.Information management professional
Editor in chief, writer, project coordinator
Dept. of Scientific Information
KoBSON, Serbia
http://nainfo.nbs.bg.ac.yu/KoBSON/page/
-----------
site://danicaradovanovic.org
blog: http://danicar.wordpress.com/
phone: +381 641439149
*********************************
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.ibiblio.org/pipermail/icommons/attachments/20070530/80caaa4e/attachment.htm 


More information about the Icommons mailing list