Stuff to Do, Week of March 31, 2011

Ross Grady grady at ibiblio.org
Wed Mar 30 22:12:36 EDT 2011


Thursday, March 31
Shelley Short    (http://www.myspace.com/shelleyshort)
Darren Hanlon    (http://www.darrenhanlon.com)
The Casbah, Durham

This is the inaugural show in the Casbah's "House Concert Series," 
meaning it'll take place in the more intimate front bar area, and be 
completely unamplified.



Thursday, March 31
Cantwell, Gomez, Jordan    (http://www.cantwellgomezandjordan.com)
Goodbye, Titan    (http://www.myspace.com/loudestsilenceever)
Gifts From Enola    (http://www.myspace.com/giftsfromenola)
Motorco Music Hall, Durham

Always excited to get to see Cantwell Gomez & Jordan, and though I'd 
gladly pay, it's nice that it's a free show to boot.



Thursday, March 31
JP and the Gilberts    (http://jpandthegilberts.com/)
The Pinhook, Durham



Thursday, March 31
Jacquelyn Lee    (http://www.myspace.com/jacquelynleeee)
Paper Ibis    (http://www.myspace.com/paperibis)
Roommate    (http://www.myspace.com/roommate)
Holygrailers    (http://www.myspace.com/holydub)
Nightlight, Chapel Hill

The one time I saw Jacquelyn Lee it was an adorable under-rehearsed mess 
with flashes of total brilliance. She claimed at some point that she'd 
stopped writing music and a little part of me died. Still hope it wasn't 
true.



Thursday, March 31
Papercuts    (http://www.myspace.com/papercutsmusic)
Banjo or Freakout    (http://www.myspace.com/banjoorfreakout)
Kings, Raleigh



Thursday, March 31
Bad Idea    (http://www.myspace.com/badidea09)
Southern Hostility    (http://www.reverbnation.com/southernhostilitync)
The Fucking Hotlights    (http://thefuckinghotlights.bandcamp.com/)
Reservoir, Carrboro



Friday, April 1
Savage Knights    (http://www.retroactivedynamics.com)
Ezekiel Graves    (http://www.myspace.com/ezekielgraves)
Marsh Woodwinds, Raleigh

Savage Knights are one of the slightly more "rock"-oriented of Crowmeat 
Bob's many ensembles.



Friday, April 1
Billy Sugarfix    (http://www.soundclick.com/bands/8/billysugarfix.htm)
Wigg Report    (http://www.reverbnation.com/thewiggreport)
Jeffrey Lewis    (http://www.thejeffreylewissite.com)
Duke Coffeehouse, Durham

Jeffrey Lewis is some kind of antifolk big-shot, I guess, maybe. I 
dunno. Doesn't really matter to me either way, inasmuch as I'd go just 
about anywhere to see the Wigg Report, regardless of who else was playing.



Friday, April 1
Midtown Dickens    (http://www.myspace.com/midtowndickens)
Hammer No More the Fingers    (http://www.hnmtf.com)
LiLa    (http://www.myspace.com/elijlamusic)
Motorco Music Hall, Durham

This is the CD-release party for the brand new Hammer No More the 
Fingers CD, "Black Shark," their second. I had time the other day to 
listen to exactly one song from it, and it was a doozy.



Friday, April 1
Royal Bangs    (http://www.myspace.com/royalbangs)
Antibubbles    (http://www.myspace.com/antibubblesss)
Local 506, Chapel Hill



Friday, April 1
Gambling the Muse    (http://www.myspace.com/gamblingthemuse)
Slingshot Cash    (http://www.myspace.com/slingshotcash)
Jeremy Blair from Effingham 
(http://jeremyblairfromeffingham.blogspot.com/)
Nightlight, Chapel Hill



Friday, April 1
MoDenA    (http://www.modenamusic.com)
iamDynamite    (http://www.myspace.com/iamdynamite)
Mumu Tutu    (http://www.mumututu.com/)
Oh No Fiasco    (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Oh-No-Fiasco/158090860878651)
Shallow Side    (http://www.facebook.com/shallowsidemusic)
The Casbah, Durham



Friday, April 1
Fan Modine    (http://www.grimsey.com/fanmodine.html)
Soft Company    (http://www.myspace.com/softcompany)
Towers    (http://towers.bandcamp.com/)
K. Heasley    (http://www.myspace.com/kheasley)
Kings, Raleigh

So apparently (according to some parentheses I saw) K Healey was in the 
Lilys? Maybe I'm supposed to remember what they sounded like?

But I don't. Doesn't matter, though, because between the post-Roxy 
weirdo artpop of Soft Company and the post-MagFields synthy mope-pop of 
Fan Modine, you've got a full slate of awesome already.



Saturday, April 2
The Pains of Being Pure at Heart 
(http://www.myspace.com/thepainsofbeingpureatheart)
Twin Shadow    (http://twinshadow.net/)
Cat's Cradle, Carrboro



Saturday, April 2
Silber Records 15 Year Anniversary Showcase
Nightlight, Chapel Hill

Says the Nightlight:

FREE! doors early at 7pm. music at 7:15pm - Aarktica, Clang Quartet, 
Electric Bird Noise, Hotel Hotel, Irata, Northern Valentine, Remora, 
slicnaton, Small Life Form, The Wet Teens, & Weather Machine and more!!



Saturday, April 2
Gobble Gobble    (http://www.myspace.com/leatherjowels)
Prisms    (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Prisms/149546605087293)
Motorco Music Hall, Durham



Saturday, April 2
No Eyes    (http://www.myspace.com/noeyesband)
Morning Teleportation    (http://www.myspace.com/morningteleportation)
Nicos Gun    (http://www.myspace.com/nicosgun)
Local 506, Chapel Hill



Saturday, April 2
Midtown Dickens    (http://www.myspace.com/midtowndickens)
S. Carey    (http://www.scarey.org/)
Kings, Raleigh

Have you seen Midtown Dickens lately? They've been all over this world, 
or at least a big chunk of the US.



Saturday, April 2
Veelee    (http://www.myspace.com/seeveelee)
Slim's Downtown, Raleigh

This is a "Moving Island Presents" show. Veelee are an amazingly great 
band from Carrboro.



Sunday, April 3
Eugene Chadbourne    (http://www.eugenechadbourne.com/)
Tatsuya Nakatani 
(http://www.hhproduction.org/TATSUYA_NAKATANI_WORKS.html)
Nightlight, Chapel Hill

Eugene Chadbourne is a national treasure, one of the few artists to 
really explore all the nooks and crannies & commonalities between the 
two great American musical forms, Jazz & Country+Western music.



Sunday, April 3
Warpaint    (http://www.warpaintwarpaint.com/)
PVT    (http://www.myspace.com/pvt)
Family Band    (http://www.familybandfamily.com/)
Kings, Raleigh



Monday, April 4
Bare Wires    (http://www.myspace.com/thebarewires)
Los Naturales
Nightlight, Chapel Hill



Monday, April 4
Men    (http://www.myspace.com/mrandmrsmen)
Romy    (http://www.myspace.com/rahromyruckus)
Local 506, Chapel Hill



Tuesday, April 5
Rainbow Nerd
Zoos of Berlin    (http://zoosofberlin.bandcamp.com/)
2702 Lawndale, Durham



Tuesday, April 5
Left Outlet    (http://www.myspace.com/leftoutlet)
Gene Loves Jezebel    (http://www.genelovesjezebel.com/)
Pour House, Raleigh

Really? Really?



Tuesday, April 5
Civil Twilight    (http://civiltwilightband.com/)
Atomic Tom    (http://www.myspace.com/atomictom)
A Silent Film    (http://www.myspace.com/asilentfilm)
Local 506, Chapel Hill



Tuesday, April 5
The Gasoline Stove    (http://www.myspace.com/thegasolinestove)
Dead Sea Sparrow
Nightlight, Chapel Hill



--------> http://www.trianglerock.com <--------



More information about the Ch-scene mailing list