[cc-community] What about Safe Creative? (sorry if off-topic)

Terry Hancock hancock at anansispaceworks.com
Wed Apr 2 01:36:20 EDT 2008


Ocetalo wrote:
> I'd like to hear your opinions about Safe
> Creative<http://www.safecreative.org/home.shtml>,
> if you've tried it or know about it. I apologize if this is off-topic, but
> and I don't know where else to ask. Of course the same Safe Creative website
> wouldn't be the most objective place.

So, it's a private copyright registry?

Um. I guess that's okay. But doesn't your country have a national
copyright registry?

In the United States, it's the Library of Congress. And I would trust
them a LOT more than "some website I found".

I don't think you have to be a US citizen to register a US copyright, so
even if you aren't, you could probably use the US Library of Congress in
the same way as you would use this private service.

I don't remember how much the registry fee with LoC is. I'm sure it
costs something, so that might be an issue. Otherwise, I can't think why
I would trust a private company like "Safe Creative" to do this task.

So "what I think" is that it's not exactly a scam, but hardly necessary.
There are public institutions that do this job, and they are going to be
much more credible in court (if it comes to that).

Cheers,
Terry

-- 
Terry Hancock (hancock at AnansiSpaceworks.com)
Anansi Spaceworks http://www.AnansiSpaceworks.com



More information about the cc-community mailing list