[cc-community] advice on dealing with a license violation?
Pieter Roosens
pieter at roosensdesign.com
Sat Oct 1 15:30:48 EDT 2005
Hi Ben,
That's something that we've seen more these days.
You can find the hosting info here:
http://www.whois.sc/80.77.81.199
Did you check the information on the linked site on that page?
http://www.whois.sc/totalkineticenergy.net
I think it's from the same person more or less. Looks like a student
IMO.
Hope this helps a bit,
Pieter
-----------------------------------------
http://www.roosensdesign.com
Op 1-okt-05, om 14:59 heeft Ben Crowell het volgende geschreven:
> Hi,
>
> Can anyone give me any advice on how to deal with a license violation?
> I have a book (http://www.lightandmatter.com/area1book3.html) that's
> under the by-sa license. Someone has created a web site in which he's
> plagiarized a bunch of my material, without attributing it to me,
> or reproducing the copyright or licensing material:
> http://newtonlaws.net. There is no contact info on the web site
> itself. I tried the whois database, but it appears that all the
> contact info there is bogus as well: mail sent to the e-mail
> contact bounced back, the phone number appears to have been
> disconnected, and the postal address appears to be nonexistent.
> (I've sent a letter to the postal address, but I expect it to
> be undeliverable -- the address doesn't seem to be formatted
> the way a U.S. street address normally would be, and I haven't
> had any luck finding the street in Google Maps.) I tried to
> figure out who his webhost was by doing a traceroute, but either
> I'm not skilled enough or that's just not possible in this case.
>
> Any advice on what to do next?
>
> Thanks in advance!
>
> Ben
More information about the cc-community
mailing list